Posted by: mulrickillion | February 4, 2012

Romney: Campaign ‘Not Concerned About the Very Poor’

ABC News, Feb 1, 2012 —

GOP front-runner Mitt Romney quickly sought today to clarify comments he made this morning about whether his campaign is focused on poor people.

____________________

The Republic Conundrum: How can a GOP candidate purport to speak for Americans, when announcing to the world, “I’m not concerned about the very poor?”

This week in the GOP race, I am not sure who was the most insensitive (or callous) and condescending between Mitt Romney’s safety net for the very poor, and Newt Gingrich’s fantasy trampoline for the poor.

M. Ulric Killion

____________________

In an interview on CNN this morning, Romney he’s not concerned about the plight of the country’s very poor because there are social safety nets that take care of them.

“I’m in this race because I care about Americans,” Romney told CNN’s Soledad O’Brien this morning after his resounding victory in Florida on Tuesday. “I’m not concerned about the very poor. We have a safety net there. If it needs repair, I’ll fix it.”

2-4-2012 10-41-42 AM

“I’m not concerned about the very rich, they’re doing just fine. I’m concerned about the very heart of the America, the 90, 95 percent of Americans who right now are struggling and I’ll continue to take that message across the nation.”

The CNN anchor pressed Romney: “You just said I’m not concerned about the very poor because they have a safety net. And I think there are lots of very poor Americans who are struggling who would say that sounds odd. Can you explain that?”. . . .

Romney: Campaign ‘Not Concerned About the Very Poor’ – ABC News

Leave a Reply

Categories

